Establishment of Namangan is related with the settlement of miners working in the local salt ore. The word “namak” means “salt” in Uzbek. The city’s history dates back to the XVII century, after a destroying earthquake the residents of ancient Aksikent moved there. Afterwards in the XVIII century Namangan was the administrative center of the region.
In 1875, after it had become the part of Russia, the new city was planned and it was apart from the old one by the fortress. The streets of the new city were laid in a semicircle. It used to be the second populous, and third largest city, after Tashkent and Samarkand.
The city is rich in green parks, orchards, boulevards, streets decorated with wonderful flowers and it is the reason why Namangan is called the city of flowers.
Not far from the city you can visit to the ruins of ancient Aksikent. According to the archeological findings the city had once a protective citadel and firm fortresses, where trade and handicraft were well-developed. However, the Mongols destroyed the city, afterwards in the XVII the city perished completely due to the destructive earhquake.